HOBBIT: THERE AND BACK AGAIN Dated For Summer 2014; Second Instalment Gets New Title

The recently announced third installment of The Hobbit now has the title previously held by next year’s newly named The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Warner Bros. and MGM Pictures have announced that the third and final film in Peter Jackson’s The Hobbit trilogy will be titled The Hobbit: There And Back Again reports Deadline. The threequel is set to be released worldwide on July 18th, 2014; the same day that X-Men: Days of Future Past is scheduled to hit the big screen. The second instalment in the franchise based on the J.R.R. Tolkien novel has been renamedThe Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug and is still set to be released on December 13th, 2013. The first film, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, will be released on December 14th, later this year.

The adventure follows the journey of title character Bilbo Baggins, who is swept into an epic quest to reclaim the lost Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor from the fearsome dragon Smaug. Approached out of the blue by the wizard Gandalf the Grey, Bilbo finds himself joining a company of thirteen dwarves led by the legendary warrior, Thorin Oakenshield. Their journey will take them into the Wild; through treacherous lands swarming with Goblins and Orcs, deadly Wargs and Giant Spiders, Shapeshifters and Sorcerers. 

Although their goal lies to the East and the wastelands of the Lonely Mountain first they must escape the goblin tunnels, where Bilbo meets the creature that will change his life forever…Gollum. 

Here, alone with Gollum, on the shores of an underground lake, the unassuming Bilbo Baggins not only discovers depths of guile and courage that surprise even him, he also gains possession of Gollum’s “precious” ring that holds unexpected and useful qualities … A simple, gold ring that is tied to the fate of all Middle-earth in ways Bilbo cannot begin to know.


Martin Freeman as Bilbo Baggins 
Ian McKellen as Gandalf the Grey 
Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield 
Andy Serkis as Gollum 
Hugo Weaving as Elrond 
Benedict Cumberbatch as Smaug 
Luke Evans as Bard the Bowman 
Christopher Lee as Saruman the White 
Cate Blanchett as Galadriel 
Elijah Wood as Frodo Baggins 
Orlando Bloom as Legolas 

RELEASE DATE: December 14th, 2012.